To Mastectomy or Not to Mastectomy

My grandmothers (maternal and paternal) had breast cancer before I was even born or as I was a newborn. My great aunt died from breast cancer when I was four. My great uncle died from male breast cancer when I was in college. My mother had a lumpectomy and radiation after being diagnosed with breast cancer when I entered the working world.

My sister was diagnosed with breast cancer at the young age of forty-one and faced rounds of radiation and chemo as I was a stay-at-home mom to my two young boys (now aged four and one). And now I’m over here just trying to break the cycle…

img_2282

My sister called me exactly a year ago, this time of year. “I have a lump”, she said but as the type of positive person that she is brushed it off by saying, “I’m sure it’s nothing”. My mom was in town visiting and we both were concerned right away. With our family history, how could it just be nothing?

Although we both love holidays, she has a really funny way of celebrating Breast Cancer Awareness month. On October 1, 2015 her doctors called and confirmed – yes – it was ductal carcinoma.

After talking with her frequently through her mastectomy and treatments it became very apparent to me that 1 – I needed to do anything I could to avoid this for myself and 2 – I was probably next. My super supportive husband Logan agreed immediately so I set out on my journey to a prophylactic, bilateral mastectomy.

Sitting here 10 days after the surgery, I am so excited to report that all has gone so well and the pathology report came back today showing no signs of cancer in my body tissue.

We have all followed Kristin’s amazing journey of courage, support and trials and know the hard, lumpy (pun intended!) roads that she has traveled down. One year later, she has asked me to share my story of prevention, too. You know, we have always been close despite having 11 1/2 years of age and about 7 states in between us, but this experience of breast cancer awareness and prevention have turned us into breast friends 🙂

More to come on my prevention resources, the overwhelming support that I received and the details of the surgery itself!

 

 

 

One thought on “To Mastectomy or Not to Mastectomy

Leave a Reply

